I should have posted about this sooner because I know, I know, the Super Bowl was weeks ago. On the morning-of I checked in on The Facebook and everyone was posting about what they were cooking for the big game. Chili, brats, nachos… my mouth was watering. The brats were really calling my name but those would have required a trip to the store which would have required changing out of my jammies, so chili it was!

God bless chili for being made up of stuff I have in my cupboards and freezer. No showering or getting-dressed required. I just tossed everything in the crockpot and the house was smelling delicious in no time. I even watched ten or fifteen minutes of the game, however long it took me to wolf and swill down everything in the bowl, plate, and glass pictured above.

Slow Cooker Chili

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • Half a green pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Sour cream
  • Shredded Cheddar cheese
  • In a skillet, cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Transfer to a slow cooker. Add the next nine ingredients. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours or on high for 4 hours. Garnish individual servings with cheese and sour cream if desired.